Brexit: «Mind the Gap»

Abstract

The United Kingdom’s exit from the EU (Brexit) was triggered by the British referendum on June 23, 2016. With the signing of the withdrawal agreement on January 31, 2020, the exit from the EU at the end of 2020 was sealed[1]. The bilateral treaties between Switzerland and the EU are therefore no longer applicable to the United Kingdom as of January 1, 2021.

Impact on migration and social security laws

Brexit and Switzerland

Between 2016 and 2019, an average of 4,200 Britons have migrated to Switzerland each year. While compared to previous years, the number has decreased as the EU has become a more attractive immigration location due to its freedoms of services and establishment; UK nationals still form about 2.6% of the total number of immigrants to Switzerland per annum. In addition, in year 2019 around 3,800 people were posted from the UK to provide services in Switzerland.

Therefore, the Federal Council pursued the so-called «Mind the Gap» strategy, with which it contemplates avoiding gaps in the legislative framework and maintaining mutual rights and obligations. In the areas of migration and social security law, however, this is largely limited to preserving rights that have been created (up) until December 31, 2020. The rules of the game have, however, changed as of January 1, 2021.

Migration law

Whereas British nationals were previously able to benefit from the free movement of persons, they are now subject to the general provisions of the Foreign Nationals and Integration Act (AIG). Exceptions relate, on the one hand, to the rights that have been acquired until December 31, 2020, as set out in the agreement between Switzerland and the UK[2] and, on the other hand, to the provision of services for up to 90 days according to the agreement on cross-border mobility[3].

The following overview shows, in a simplified manner, the rules that are now applicable in the area of migration law:

Entry of UK nationals into Switzerland until December 31, 2020 = UK nationals with acquired rights (“grandfathering”):

  • Continuation of the following (acquired) rights:
    • Residence with gainful employment
    • Residence without gainful employment
    • Right to family reunification (however, limited until December 31, 2025)
    • Cross-border activity
  • Discontinuation of the rights if the prerequisites are no longer met (e.g. emigration, danger to public order).

UK nationals entering Switzerland from January 1, 2021 on = new UK nationals entering Switzerland:

  • No visa requirement
  • Gainful employment in Switzerland requires work permit under the same conditions as those applicable for other third-country nationals (according to AIG); special quota of 2,100 B permits and 1,400 L permits
  • Provision of services for up to 90 days per calendar year: application of the notification procedure without review by the Swiss labour authorities; applies to companies based in the UK regardless of the nationality of the posted employees, provided they have been admitted to the regular UK labour market for at least twelve months
  • Residence without gainful employment (e.g. relocation of wealthy individuals): rules according to AIG applicable

Coordination of social security systems

While the UK was a member state of the EU, the rules pursuant to Regulations (EC) No. 883/2004 and (EC) No. 987/2009 on the coordination of social security systems were applicable. However, these are no longer relevant in relation to the United Kingdom as of January 1, 2021. Apparently, Switzerland and the United Kingdom contemplate providing for new coordination rules. However, the corresponding agreement has not yet been finally negotiated. Until then, the current bilateral social security agreement between Switzerland and the UK will apply[4].

The following overview shows, in a simplified manner, the different rules with regard to the coordination of social security systems:

Cross-border situations related to the EU, the UK and Switzerland that had started (up) until December 31, 2020, create acquired rights:

  • Group of persons for whom there will be no change regarding their social security coordination for as long as these persons are in a cross-border situation (i.e. as long as there is a connection to both states and, if applicable, additionally to an EU member state, due to nationality, activity or residence):
    • UK nationals in a cross-border situation between Switzerland and the EU
    • Swiss nationals in a cross-border situation with the UK and the EU
    • EU nationals in a cross-border situation between Switzerland and the United Kingdom
    • Other persons who are not (any longer) in a cross-border situation for as long as they have the right to work or reside in the other state (e.g. CH nationals who continue working in the UK after their secondment in the UK or who give up their employment in the UK but remain resident there)
  • Applicable social security system:
    • The same state continues to be responsible for social insurance, collects contributions and provides benefits without discrimination
    • A1 certificates concerning cross-border situations that started before January 1, 2021 remain valid for the duration of the cross-border situation or the duration of the validity of the A1 certificate, respectively

Cross-border situations involving the EU, the UK and Switzerland starting from January 1, 2021:

  • Posting of UK nationals or third-country nationals (i.e. non-EU/UK/CH) between Switzerland and the UK: application of the bilateral social security agreement of February 21, 1968[5]
  • Posting of UK nationals between Switzerland and the EU: Application of the bilateral social security agreements between Switzerland and the EU state concerned (if applicable)
  • Cross-border situations outside of a posting: Application of the bilateral social security agreement of February 21, 1968 with regard to CH and UK nationals, but not with respect to other nationals

Conclusion

For companies wishing to employ British nationals, Brexit means that – unlike in the past – they will first have to go through the ordinary work permit application procedure. Even if the number of available permit quotas may be sufficient to cover demand in 2021, this means an additional administrative burden for HR departments and a longer planning period when relocating employees. Finally, this also leads to a certain degree of planning uncertainty, as there is no legal entitlement to the issuance of permits under this quota.

Since January 1, 2021, there is a patchwork quilt regarding several questions that have remained open with respect to the coordination of social security systems. It can only be assumed that, the social security authorities have not made an effort providing more clarity by publishing guidelines or the like in light of the probably impending conclusion of a new, comprehensive social security agreement between Switzerland and the UK which will presumably rely heavily on the existing EU rules. However, for the time being, this means considerable legal uncertainty, especially for HR departments. Hopefully the negotiating partners will succeed in quickly concluding a new, comprehensive social security agreement.

[1] Agreement on the Withdrawal of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland from the European Union and the European Atomic Energy Community. in Official Journal of the European Union. L 29, January 31, 2020, pp. 7-187 (https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/DE/TXT/?uri=CELEX:12020W/TXT).

[2] Agreement between the Swiss Confederation and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland on the Rights of Citizens as a Result of the Withdrawal of the United Kingdom from the European Union and the Termination of the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons of February 25, 2019, BBl 2020 1085 (https://www.admin.ch/opc/de/federal-gazette/2020/1085.pdf).

[3] Temporary Agreement between the Swiss Confederation and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland on Services Mobility of December 14, 2020 (https://www.newsd.admin.ch/newsd/message/attachments/64471.pdf).

[4] Agreement between Switzerland and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland on Social Security of February 21, 1968, SR 0.831.109.367.1, which, however, only covers AHV, IV, UV, KV and FZ, whereas under the FMPA EL, BV and ALV were also covered.

[5] Compare Fn. 4.

If you have any queries related to this Bulletin, please refer to your contact person at Homburger or to:

Brexit: «Mind the Gap»

Abstract

Der EU-Austritt des Vereinigten Königreichs (Brexit) wurde mit dem britischen Referendum vom 23. Juni 2016 angestossen. Mit der Unterzeichnung des Austrittsabkommens vom 31. Januar 2020 wurde der EU-Austritt per Jahresende 2020 besiegelt[1]. Die bilateralen Verträge zwischen der Schweiz und der EU sind daher ab dem 1. Januar 2021 nicht mehr auf das Vereinigte Königreich anwendbar.

 

Auswirkungen auf Ausländer- und Sozialversicherungsrecht

Brexit und die Schweiz

In den Jahren 2016 bis 2019 sind durchschnittlich 4’200 Briten pro Jahr in die Schweiz übergesiedelt. Zwar hat die Zahl gegenüber früheren Jahren abgenommen, da die EU insbesondere aufgrund der EU-internen Dienstleistungs- und Niederlassungsfreiheit als Zuwanderungsdestination attraktiver wurde; sie macht aber immer noch rund 2.6% der gesamten jährlichen Zuwanderung in die Schweiz aus. Zudem erbrachten etwa im Jahr 2019 rund 3’800 Personen aus dem Vereinigten Königreich Dienstleistungen in der Schweiz.

Deshalb verfolgte der Bundesrat die sogenannte «Mind the Gap»-Strategie, mit welcher er rechtliche Lücken vermeiden sowie gegenseitige Rechte und Pflichten aufrechterhalten wollte. In den Bereichen des Migrations- und Sozialversicherungsrechts beschränkt sich dies allerdings grösstenteils auf die Wahrung der bis zum 31. Dezember 2020 entstandenen Rechte. Ab dem 1. Januar 2021 gelten demgegenüber neue Spielregeln.

Migrationsrecht

Während britische Staatsangehörige bislang von der Personenfreizügigkeit profitieren konnten, unterstehen sie neu grundsätzlich den allgemeinen Bestimmungen des Ausländer- und Integrationsgesetzes (AIG). Ausnahmen betreffen einerseits die gemäss Abkommen zwischen der Schweiz und dem UK[2] bis zum 31. Dezember 2020 erworbenen Rechte und anderseits die Dienstleistungserbringung von bis zu 90 Tagen gemäss Abkommen zur grenzüberschreitenden Mobilität[3].

Die nachfolgende Übersicht gibt, vereinfacht dargestellt, die nunmehr im Bereich des Migrationsrechts geltenden Regeln wieder:

Einreise von UK-Staatsangehörigen in die Schweiz bis zum 31. Dezember 2020 = UK-Staatsangehörige mit erworbenen Rechten (“grandfathering”):

  • Weiterführung der folgenden (erworbenen) Rechte:
    • Aufenthalt mit Erwerbstätigkeit
    • Aufenthalt ohne Erwerbstätigkeit
    • Recht auf Familiennachzug (allerdings beschränkt bis 31. Dezember 2025)
    • Grenzgängertätigkeit
  • Wegfall des Schutzes, wenn die Voraussetzungen nicht mehr erfüllt sind (z.B. Wegzug, Gefahr für die öffentliche Ordnung)

Einreise von UK-Staatsangehörigen in die Schweiz ab dem 1. Januar 2021 = neu einreisende UK-Staatsangehörige:

  • Keine Visumpflicht
  • Erwerbstätigkeit in der Schweiz erfordert Arbeitsbewilligung unter denselben Voraussetzungen, die für übrige Drittstaatenangehörige gelten (gemäss AIG); Sonderkontingent von 2’100 B-Bewilligungen und 1’400 L-Bewilligungen
  • Dienstleistungserbringung von bis zu 90 Tagen pro Kalenderjahr: Anwendung des Meldeverfahrens (wie bis anhin unter dem Freizügigkeitsabkommen, FZA) ohne arbeitsmarktrechtliche Prüfung; gilt für Unternehmen mit Sitz im UK unabhängig von der Staatsangehörigkeit der Entsandten, sofern die Entsandten seit mind. zwölf Monaten auf dem regulären UK-Arbeitsmarkt zugelassen sind
  • Aufenthalt ohne Erwerbstätigkeit (z.B. Umzug von vermögenden Privatpersonen): Regeln gemäss AIG anwendbar

Sozialversicherungsunterstellung

Während der EU-Mitgliedschaft Grossbritanniens kamen die Regeln gemäss Verordnungen (EG) Nr. 883/2004 und (EG) Nr. 987/2009 über die Koordinierung der Systeme der sozialen Sicherheit zur Anwendung. Diese sind allerdings seit dem 1. Januar 2021 im Verhältnis zum Vereinigten Königreich nicht mehr anwendbar. Dem Vernehmen nach beabsichtigen die Schweiz und das Vereinigte Königreich neue Koordinierungsregeln vorzusehen. Allerdings ist die entsprechende Vereinbarung noch nicht final ausgehandelt. Bis dahin gilt das bilaterale Sozialversicherungsabkommen zwischen der Schweiz und dem Vereinigten Königreich[4].

Die nachfolgende Übersicht gibt, vereinfacht dargestellt, die unterschiedlichen Regeln hinsichtlich der Sozialversicherungsunterstellung wieder:

Grenzüberschreitende Situationen mit Bezug zur EU, dem Vereinigten Königreich und der Schweiz, die bis zum 31. Dezember 2020 begonnen hatten, schaffen erworbene Rechte:

  • Erfasster Personenkreis, für den sich hinsichtlich Versicherungsunterstellung nichts ändert, solange diese Personen in einer grenzüberschreitenden Situation sind (d.h. solange aufgrund von Staatsangehörigkeit, Tätigkeit oder Wohnsitz ein Bezug zu beiden Staaten und ggf. zusätzlich zu einem EU-Mitgliedstaat besteht):
    • UK-Staatsangehörige in einer grenzüberschreitenden Situation zwischen der Schweiz und der EU
    • Schweizer Staatsangehörige in einer grenzüberschreitenden Situation mit dem Vereinigten Königreich und der EU
    • EU-Staatsangehörige in einer grenzüberschreitenden Situation im Verhältnis Schweiz – Vereinigtes Königreich
    • Weitere Personen, die nicht (mehr) in einer grenzüberschreitenden Situation sind, wenn sie das Recht haben, im anderen Staat zu arbeiten oder zu wohnen (z.B. CH-Staatsangehörige, die nach Ablauf ihrer Entsendung im Vereinigten Königreich arbeiten oder ihre Erwerbstätigkeit im Vereinigten Königreich aufgeben, aber dort wohnen bleiben)
  • Versicherungsunterstellung:
    • Derselbe Staat ist weiterhin zuständig für die Sozialversicherungen, erhebt Beiträge und gewährt Leistungen ohne Diskriminierung
    • A1 Bescheinigungen betreffend grenzüberschreitende Situationen, welche vor dem 1. Januar 2021 begonnen haben, bleiben für die Dauer der grenzüberschreitenden Situation bzw. für die Dauer der Gültigkeit der A1 Bescheinigung bestehen

Grenzüberschreitende Situationen mit Bezug zur EU, dem Vereinigten Königreich und der Schweiz ab dem 1. Januar 2021:

  • Entsendung von britischen Staatsangehörigen oder Staatsangehörigen von Drittstaaten (d.h. nicht EU/UK/CH) zwischen der Schweiz und dem Vereinigten Königreich: Anwendung des bilateralen Sozialversicherungsabkommens vom 21. Februar 1968[5]
  • Entsendung von britischen Staatsangehörigen zwischen der Schweiz und EU-Staaten: Gegebenenfalls Anwendung der bilateralen Sozialversicherungsabkommen zwischen der Schweiz und dem jeweiligen EU-Staat
  • Grenzüberschreitende Sachverhalte ausserhalb einer Entsendung: Anwendung des bilateralen Sozialversicherungsabkommens vom 21. Februar 1968 hinsichtlich CH- und UK-Staatsangehörigen, nicht aber hinsichtlich anderen Staatsangehörigen

Fazit

Der Brexit bedeutet insbesondere für Unternehmen, die britische Staatsangehörige beschäftigen wollen, dass diese – anders als bisher – zunächst das Verfahren auf Erteilung einer Arbeitsbewilligung durchlaufen müssen. Auch wenn im Jahr 2021 die Anzahl der verfügbaren Bewilligungskontingente ausreichen dürfte, um die Nachfrage abzudecken, bedeutet dies einen zusätzlichen administrativen Aufwand für die HR-Abteilungen und einen längeren Planungszeitraum bei der Umsiedlung von Mitarbeitenden. Schliesslich führt dies auch zu einer gewissen Planungsunsicherheit, da es an einem Rechtsanspruch auf Bewilligungserteilung fehlt.

Hinsichtlich der Sozialversicherungsunterstellung besteht nun seit dem 1. Januar 2021 ein Flickenteppich mit einigen nach wie vor offenen Fragen. Es kann nur vermutet werden, dass sich die Verwaltung mit Blick auf einen erwarteten Abschluss eines neuen, umfassenden und vermutlich an die EU-Regelungen angelehnten Sozialversicherungsabkommens nicht um die Schaffung von Klarheit und die Publikation umfassender Weisungen oder FAQ bemüht hat. Das bedeutet gerade für die HR-Abteilungen eine erhebliche Rechtsunsicherheit. Es bleibt zu hoffen, dass es den Verhandlungspartnern gelingt, rasch ein neues, umfassendes Sozialversicherungsabkommen abzuschliessen.

[1] Abkommen über den Austritt des Vereinigten Königreichs Großbritannien und Nordirland aus der Europäischen Union und der Europäischen Atomgemeinschaft. in: Amtsblatt der europäischen Union. L 29, 31. Januar 2020, S. 7–187 (https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/DE/TXT/?uri=CELEX:12020W/TXT).

[2] Abkommen zwischen der Schweizerischen Eidgenossenschaft und dem Vereinigten Königreich von Grossbritannien und Nordirland über die Rechte der Bürgerinnen und Bürger infolge des Austritts des Vereinigten Königreichs aus der Europäischen Union und des Wegfalls des Freizügigkeitsabkommens vom 25. Februar 2019, BBl 2020 1085 (https://www.admin.ch/opc/de/federal-gazette/2020/1085.pdf).

[3] Temporary Agreement between the Swiss Confederation and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland on Services Mobility vom 14. Dezember 2020 (https://www.newsd.admin.ch/newsd/message/attachments/64471.pdf).

[4] Abkommen zwischen der Schweiz und dem Vereinigten Königreich von Grossbritannien und Nordirland über Soziale Sicherheit vom 21. Februar 1968, SR 0.831.109.367.1 (https://www.admin.ch/opc/de/classified-compilation/19680033/196904010000/0.831.109.367.1.pdf), das allerdings nur die AHV, IV, UV, KV und FZ umfasst, wohingegen unter dem FZA auch die EL, BV und ALV abgedeckt waren.

[5] Vgl. Fn. 4.

Falls Sie Fragen zu diesem Bulletin haben, wenden Sie sich bitte an Ihre Homburger Kontaktperson oder an: